Growing 'n Musing
Growing 'n Musing Podcast
10 Reminders for Mental and Emotional Fortitude
2
0:00
-14:26

10 Reminders for Mental and Emotional Fortitude

Keeping the Faith with Billy Joel
2

In Today’s Episode

How do you build mental and emotional fortitude? How do you keep the faith?

Affirmations. Friends. Family. Positive self-talk. Reframing. Journaling. Long walks. Early morning gym workouts. The dream of freedom and travel.

Retreating. Reimagining. Nurturing.

This is how I keep going. This is how I build mental fortitude. This is how I keep the faith.

Today’s Affirmation

Not all storms come to disrupt your life, some come to clear your path. ✨

Leave a comment

The sun in the blue sky
Look up and wonder.

Today’s Poem

Keeping the Faith by Billy Joel (modified)

If it seems like I've been lost in let's remember

If you think I'm feeling older and missing my younger days

then you should have known me much better'

Cause my past is something that never got in my way


Still I would not be here now if I never had the hunger

And I'm not ashamed to say the wild boys were my friends

'cause I never felt the desire

To let music set me on fire

And then I was saved


That's why I'm keeping the faith


You can get just so much from a good thing

You can linger too long in your dreams

Say goodbye to the oldies but goodies'

Cause the good ole days weren't always good

And tomorrow ain't as bad as it seems


Learned stickball as a formal education

Lost a lot of fights but it taught me how to lose 

I heard about sex but not enough

I found you could dance and still look tough anyway


We were keeping the faith


I told you my reasons for the whole revival

Now I'm going outside to have an ice cold beer in the shade

Ain't it wonderful to be alive 

When the memory stays


I'm keeping the faith

Leave a comment


ICYMI, read last week’s post: Agree or Disagree: Creative Expression Is A Wellness Practice.

2 Comments
Growing 'n Musing
Growing 'n Musing Podcast
...where poetry and mindfulness intersect into an Olympian's approach to health and wellness.