Growing 'n Musing
Growing 'n Musing Podcast
What I Feel Is Not What I Am
1
0:00
-10:06

What I Feel Is Not What I Am

Today's poem is The Endless
1

In Today’s Episode

Charles Bukowski, poet and novelist, posed this question:

“When no one wakes you up in the morning and no one waits for you at night and you can do whatever you want, what do you call that, freedom or loneliness?”

Loading...

Leave a comment

Today’s Affirmation

What I feel is not what I am. I am separate from my feelings. ✨

Sun in a dark sky
Do you feel it? Winter is coming to a close.

Today’s Poem

The Endless

by Kellion Knibb
In my Renaissance 
I reimagine the paths I’ve taken 
and the fastness of lives I’ve chosen 
to ignore 

In my Renaissance, 
I claim opportunities galore, 
deny love that leaves me unsure, 
walk towards the bigger and better 
as a woman who now knows she deserves more 

In my Renaissance, 
I don’t quantify my value but rather 
remove the ceiling and the floor that trapped me
unbelieving what I knew at my core

Cue the unlearning,
the knowing that my possibilities are endless 
and the only place where I’m less is in my mind
 
where my new beginnings will take shape 
and the mess of who I believed I was 
will remain here at the beggar’s steps 
while I climb the stairs toward reformed happiness 
transformed by new beliefs and the present me 
who cares less about who they said I should be 

In my Renaissance, 
I am softened by my tears 
who demand that I express 
all the sentiments that have left me bruised 
and the fortunes that make me feel blessed 

In my Renaissance, 
I am bending 
and when I’m done,
I will have mended all the falsehoods 
that kept me small in the hood of this 
trained-to-be imprisoned mind 

when I’m done, 
I will be ready to do it again 
and again

In my renaissance

I am no longer focused on the ending 
but the storytelling where the pen is 
within my control

as the alchemist, I am reminded:
this personal legend is mine to own

I can pick and choose 
forgetting the ruse altogether 

In my renaissance 
I am mine alone
I am free. 

Leave a comment

1 Comment
Growing 'n Musing
Growing 'n Musing Podcast
...where poetry and mindfulness intersect into an Olympian's approach to health and wellness.