Growing 'n Musing
Growing 'n Musing Podcast
I Aspired To Perfectionism but…
0:00
-11:23

I Aspired To Perfectionism but…

Releasing perfectionism to embrace freedom in being flawed and human

Today’s Episode

Chasing perfectionism and exceptionalism can make it hard to slow down enough to give yourself credit.

Many of us quickly scold and reprimand ourselves for what we do wrong. Why aren’t we just as quick to give ourselves credit and praise for what we do well?

Today’s Affirmation

All of my efforts allow me to experience different versions of myself. 🦋

This view calls me back

Today’s Poem

Where We Belong by Maya Angelou

In every town and village,

In every city square,

In crowded places

I searched the faces

Hoping to find

Someone to care.


I read mysterious meanings

In the distant stars,

Then I went to schoolrooms

And poolrooms

And half-lighted cocktail bars.

Braving dangers,

Going with strangers,

I don't even remember their names.

I was quick and breezy

And always easy

Playing romantic games.


I wined and dined a thousand exotic Joans and Janes

In dusty halls, at

debutante balls,

On lonely country lanes.

I fell in love forever,

Twice every year or so.

I wooed them sweetly, was theirs completely,

But they always let me go.

Saying bye now, no need to try now,

You don't have the proper charms.

Too sentimental and much too gentle

I don't tremble in your arms.


Then you rose into my life

Like a promised sunrise.

Brightening my days with the light in your eyes.

I've never been so strong,

Now I'm where I belong.

Enjoying Growing ‘n Musing? I would love to hear from you. 👇🏿

Leave a comment


0 Comments
Growing 'n Musing
Growing 'n Musing Podcast
...where poetry and mindfulness intersect into an Olympian's approach to health and wellness.